Skip to content

Goldenrods

September 7, 2012

The goldenrods are fully in bloom now, which means six weeks until the first frost.  We’ve been watching them for the past week or so, back when they were tiny buds.   Slowly, steadily, they grew a bit larger everyday, first green, then gradually tinged with yellow, and now, fully ablaze.  The trees will soon follow suit, and then, before we know it, we’ll be bundling up in hats and scarves, jumping into leaf piles and sipping hot chocolate by the fire.  I do make an effort to embrace and enjoy all the seasons, but this transition from summer to fall is the one I look forward to most.   I always feel sort of subversive when I admit this, but I just love cold weather.    Somehow, the  brisk air of the cooler months makes me think more clearly.   The heat of summer tends to leave me slow and lazy, so I’m not sorry to see it go.  However, the fact that fresh tomatoes from the garden have slowed to a trickle is very sad indeed.  But, on the bright side, soon we’ll be gathering armloads of kale and mustard greens everyday.  That doesn’t make everyone in our household as happy as it does me (ahem……Mr. Bum), but kale just makes me giddy.

Mark and I have a busy weekend ahead, all close to home gigs.  Tonight, we’ll be at the Lobster Trap, downtown Asheville, from 7 – 9.  Tomorrow night, Mark will be playing a solo show at the Blue Mountain Pizza in Weaverville, 7 – 9:30.  Sunday we’re both looking forward to playing the Marshall Farmer’s Market, on the island, from 1:30 – 3:30.  This event is sponsored by the Madison County Arts Council and we always enjoy working with them.  Next week Mark has several local shows through the week and then Saturday the 15th, we’ll be heading over to Bristol to play the Bristol Rhythm & Roots Reunion.  I’m so excited about this festival.  We’re taking our good pal Milan Miller along to make us look good and sound even better.

Now, on to my three things:

Reading….The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty

I haven’t read Welty since college, but I picked up this collection at the library last week and have been enjoying reading some stories.  I miss reading fiction, but can’t seem to make it through novels these days, so short stories may be the very obvious solution.  I think the music part of my brain is taking over the literary part that ruled the roost for so long because I keep wanting to turn them into songs.

Watching…..Sabrina 

Another old favorite I hadn’t seen in ages.  I love Audrey.  Kate and I have plans for a girls’ night tomorrow, featuring a big bowl of popcorn and Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Listening To……Land Like A Bird by Amy Speace.  

A beautiful album.  This is my favorite song.  And I’m also very excited about her upcoming (Shakespeare inspired!) album, How to Sleep in a Stormy Boat.  She just launched her Kickstarter campaign and you can watch a beautiful video about the album plans over there.

Have a great weekend!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

